Tango-no-sekku

Had a rather intense tea weekend. We had two tea gatherings, one on Saturday and Tango-no-sekku on Sunday. I think I exceeded all my records in the amount of shiroan produced the days before! Well, now there’s plenty of it in the freezer. I once again used this site for the shiroan recipe.

I wanted to try making manju’s, but wasn’t quite sure what the liquid part is made of. Obviously it’s supposed to be made of some kind of potato. I replaced potato with apple, so I guess the consistency wasn’t quite what it was supposed to be.  But it worked out well. I’ll try it again.

The filling was shiroan and the decoration made of konashi dyed with matcha. Everyone finished their sweet so I guess I can count it a successful sweet making.

Manju variation

Manju variation. Photo by Eerika Valkonen

I did tea both days. Lovely guests and a really nice atmosphere. I consider myself lucky to see random people over a cup of tea. Enjoyable encounters that obviously will never repeat themselves in the same form.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

